top of page
  • Writer's pictureDavid James Connolly

Protecting Critical Infrastructure and Systems of National Significance

The Australian Government is committed to protecting the essential services all Australians rely on. To achieve this, the Department of Home Affairs (the Department) is progressing the Protecting Critical Infrastructure and Systems of National Significance reforms, a key initiative of Australia’s Cyber Security Strategy 2020 (3MB PDF).

On 10 December 2020, the Minister for Home Affairs introduced the Security Legislation Amendment (Critical Infrastructure) Bill 2020​ to Parliament.

The Bill seeks to amend the Security of Critical Infrastructure Act 2018 and expands its coverage from four sectors (electricity, gas, water and ports) to the following eleven critical infrastructure sectors:

  • communications

  • financial services and markets

  • data storage or processing

  • defence industry

  • higher education and research

  • energy

  • food and grocery

  • health care and medical

  • space technology

  • transport; and

  • water and sewerage.

Security Legislation Amendments (Critical Infrastructure) Bill 2020 Exposure Draft


On Friday, 27 November 2020, the following submissions were closed at 5pm (AEDT):

  • Exposure Draft of the Security Legislation Amendment (Critical Infrastructure) Bill 2020 (the Bill) (859KB PDF)

  • Bill’s accompanying draft Explanatory Document​ (850KB PDF)

  • Exposure Draft of the Intelligence Services Regulations 2020 (the Regulations) (450KB PDF)

  • Regulations’ accompanying Explanatory Statement (441KB PDF).

During three weeks of consultation, the Department met with over 1,000 individuals and received 129 submissions. Thirty submissions remain confidential and are not publicly available. Publicly available submissions are available below:

  • Active Cyber Defence Alliance (1191KB PDF)

  • Afilias Australia Pty Ltd (173KB PDF)

  • AGL Energy Limited (213KB PDF)

  • Alinta Energy (110KB PDF)

  • Amazon Web Services (919KB PDF)

  • AMPOL Ltd (116KB PDF)

  • Asia Internet Coalition (183KB PDF)

  • Asia Pacific Loan Market Association (Australian Branch) (4MB PDF)

  • ATCO Australia Pty Ltd (4MB PDF)

  • Atlassian (118KB PDF)

  • auDA - .au Domain Administration Ltd (194KB PDF)

  • Ausgrid (1112KB PDF)

  • AusNet Services (169KB PDF)

  • AustCyber (471KB PDF)

  • Australian Banking Association (243KB PDF)

  • Australian Energy Market Operator (134KB PDF)

  • Australian Energy Regulator (193KB PDF)

  • Australian Financial Markets Association (190KB PDF)

  • Australian Food and Grocery Council (218KB PDF)

  • Australian Information Industry Association (308KB PDF)

  • Australian Information Security Association (6MB PDF)

  • Australian Institute of Petroleum Ltd (211KB PDF)

  • Australian Institute of Superannuation Trustees (146KB PDF)

  • Australian Investment Council (83KB PDF)

  • Australian Logistics Council (229KB PDF)

  • Australian Research Data Commons (905KB PDF)

  • Australian Technology Network of Universities (174KB PDF)

  • BAI Communications Australia (146KB PDF)

  • BSA | The Software Alliance (114KB PDF)

  • Charles Darwin University (5MB PDF)

  • Cisco (165KB PDF)

  • Civil Contractors Federal National (286KB PDF)

  • Clean Energy Council (257KB PDF)

  • Cleared Life Vetting (310KB PDF)

  • Commercial Radio Australia (277KB PDF)

  • Communications Alliance Ltd (213KB PDF)

  • Consumer Healthcare Products Australia (119KB PDF)

  • CR2 - Coalition to Reduce Cyber Risk (205KB PDF)

  • Cryptophoto (517KB PDF)

  • Cyber Security Corporate Research Centre (410KB PDF)

  • Cybersecurity Coalition (134KB PDF)

  • Deakin University (2MB PDF)

  • Engineers Australia (232KB PDF)

  • Essential Energy (209KB PDF)

  • Financial Services Council (105KB PDF)

  • Forum Of Australian Security Executives (211KB PDF)

  • Free TV Australia (291KB PDF)

  • Freight and Trade Alliance (705KB PDF)

  • Fujitsu (235KB PDF)

  • Gateway Network Governance Body (307KB PDF)

  • Huawei Australia (61KB PDF)

  • Information Technology Industry Council (342KB PDF)

  • Innovative Research Universities (267KB PDF)

  • Keolis Downer - Operator of Yarra Trams (781KB PDF)

  • Lakeba (145KB PDF)

  • Law Council of Australia (910KB PDF)

  • Maritime Industry Australia Limited (673KB PDF)

  • Medical Software Industry association (262KB PDF)

  • Medicines Australia (133KB PDF)

  • Merck Sharp & Dohme (Australia) Pty Ltd (132KB PDF)

  • Microsoft (142KB PDF)

  • Murdoch University (141KB PDF)

  • National Archives of Australia (164KB PDF)

  • National Offshore Petroleum Safety and Environmental Management Authority (2MB PDF)

  • National Pharmaceutical Services Association (1357KB PDF)

  • New Payments Platform Australia (2MB PDF)

  • Nokia (172KB PDF)

  • Office of the Australian Information Commissioner (177KB PDF)

  • Optus (212KB PDF)

  • Origin Energy (68KB PDF)

  • Palo Alto Networks (136KB PDF)

  • Philippine Space Agency (236KB PDF)

  • PricewaterhouseCoopers (143KB PDF)

  • Property Council of Australia (264KB PDF)

  • Queensland University of Technology (142KB PDF)

  • Santos Ltd (138KB PDF)

  • SBS (125KB PDF)

  • Science and Technology Australia (172KB PDF)

  • Shell Australia Pty Ltd (108KB PDF)

  • Standards Australia (615KB PDF)

  • Sunwater Limited (233KB PDF)

  • Swinburne University (108KB PDF)

  • Sydney Airport (300KB PDF)

  • Tasmanian Networks Pty Ltd (538KB PDF)

  • Telstra (189KB PDF)

  • Telstra Health (173KB PDF)

  • The Australian Industry Group (420KB PDF)

  • The Australian National University College of Law (179KB PDF)

  • The Council of Australasian University Directors of Information Technology (203KB PDF)

  • The Group of Eight Ltd (358KB PDF)

  • Transurban Group (565KB PDF)

  • Universities Australia (54KB PDF)

  • University of Melbourne (310KB PDF)

  • University of Sydney (160KB PDF)

  • V/Line Corporation (106KB PDF)

  • Vault Systems Pty Ltd (89KB PDF)

  • ​Victrack (541KB PDF)

  • Water Services Association of Australia (660KB PDF)

  • Western Sydney University (75KB PDF)

Consultation Paper

Submissions to the Protecting Critical Infrastructure and Systems of National Significance Consultation Paper (1246KB PDF) closed at 5pm (AEST) on Wednesday, 16 September 2020.

During five weeks of consultation, the Department consulted over 2,000 people to discuss the Protecting Critical Infrastructure and Systems of National Significance package of reforms.

Virtual consultation comprised of a series of six public Town Halls and Twenty-two sector-specific workshops. For further information, see The Virtual Town Hall presentation (969KB PDF).

Sub​missions​ to the Consultation Paper

In response to the Consultation Paper, the Department received 194 submissions. Sixty-six submissions remain confidential and are not publicly available.

Publicly available submissions are available below:

More: here

Best regards,

David James Connolly

6 views0 comments


bottom of page